Political Science

Whoever you are or want to be you may not be interested in politics, but politics is interested in you.” —Marshall Berman

If DAV College Jalandhar is recognised as the ‘flagship’ institution of DAV Colleges Managing Committee, New Delhi, the Post Graduate Department of Political Science enjoys the enviable position of being a real ‘power house’ of the college academic and co-curricular activities.

In fact, it is one of the oldest departments which came into being with the founding of the college in 1918. Prof. P. N. Vig and D.C. Bhalla served this department with great devotion and laid the sound foundation of it to be raised to the Post-Graduate level in 1953, when Prof. R. L. Bhatia took over as its Head. With rare distinctions Prof. R. L. Bhatia guided the destinies of post-graduate department till his retirement in 1968.

It is a matter of legitimate pride that after Prof. R L Bhatia, the department was served and led by eminent teachers and educationists like Prof. V N Chawla, Dr. K C Mahindru, Prof. K KGhai, Prof. D K Sud, Prof. SatishTandon, Dr. R P Dhand, Prof. P L Chopra and others. These great scholars and administrators carried forward the task of teaching Political Science with examplary devotion and commitment to maintain high prestige and traditions of all round excellence.

Presently, besides the Head of Department, Dr. B B Sharma; Dr.Ashwani Sharma, Prof. Sunil Oberoi, Prof. Rajesh Rajput, Dr. Raj Kumar, Dr. Dinesh Arora and Prof. Ram Milan Yadav are serving the department with rare enthusiasm and devotion.

Courses Offered:

Post-Graduation :  MA in Political Science (Duration:4 Semesters)

Under Graduation:  Political Science (Honours)

  • Political Science as an optional subject.
  • Public Administration as an optional subject.


1. Sh. S.K. Oberoi

M.A.,M.Phil., Head

2. Sh. Rajesh Kumar Rajput


3. Dr. Raj Kumar


4. Dr. Dinesh Arora

M.A., Ph.D.


Distinctions of the Department:

  • Department has the distinctive record of glorious academic and co-curricular achievements.
  • Department alumni include a large number of educationists, sports persons, artists, diplomats, political leaders, social activists, army officers and civil servants.

Bi-Annual Research Journal- Journal of Political Science

The Department has the enviable distinction of being the only Department located in this part of the country, publishing its own Bi-annual Research Journal – The Journal of Political Science (earlier known as Journal of Political Studies). It was founded by Prof.V.N. Chawla in 1968, and Dr.K.C. Mahindru, Prof.K.K. Ghai and Prof.D.K. Sud became its successive editors. In the year 2005, after a short break Prof. Satish Tandon revived it under a new name – The Journal of Political Science. Currently, it is being edited by Dr. B B Sharma with the able assistance of other members of the department.
Till date the department has brought out three special numbers of this Journal- one each on Fundamental Rights, Local Self Government and 42nd Amendment. A detailed bibliography of 42nd Amendment was also published in September 1976 issue of the Journal.
This research Journal is now recoginsed as one of the leading journals in Political Science at home and abroad and has been assigned ISSN no. 0976-8254. It is also registered with the Registrar Newspaper of India, New Delhi under RNI No. PUNENG/2005/18316.
The Department has reasons to feel proud that the International Political Science Association (IPSA), Paris gave recognition to our Journal when it referred the Journal in its newsletter.
This Journal has the honor of having contributions from prominent scholars of USA, Canada, Germany and India. It has wide circulation at home and abroad, and is serving the academic needs of students and scholars of Political Science.

Guidelines for Contributors
*     Articles/Book Reviews for Journal of Political Science are welcome from the scholars in the realm of Political Science. The contributions should be in the range of not exceeding 4,000 words including notes and references. These should be sent in a hard copy format accompanied by a CD version in MS_Word format. A soft copy should also be sent by E-mail. The contributions may sent to the Editor, Journal of Political Science, DAV College, Jalandhar-144 008 (Pb.) E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
*     The articles / research papers will be published only after the approval of referees as Journal of Political Science is a bi-annual (April-November) referred Journal.
*     The contributors must furnish a declaration stating that “the research paper/articles has not been published so far, will not send elsewhere for publication and the same is an original work of the contributor(s)”.
*     Copyright of articles vests in the Journal of Political Science who would be free to reproduce them in any compilation/edited volumes.
*     The Journal or any part thereof should not be reproduced without the written permission of the Editor.
*     Views expressed in the articles published in the Journal are those of the authors’ and are not to be attributed to the Editor, Editorial Board, Advisory Board and Department of Political Science, DAV College, Jalandhar.

Journal Subscription Rates

No. of Years



1 Year

Rs. 400.00

$ 30 /  £ 20

3 Year

Rs. 1000.00

$ 50 /  £ 45

5 Year

Rs. 1700.00

$ 100 /  £ 90


Glorious Results



Position in University


Parul Sharma










  • Library of College has an independent Political Science Section, which students can use or refer to freely as Library provides open shelf system. Internet facilities for Staff & Students.
  • Department has Computer with Internet Connection and Printer.
  • Department has a Lecture theatre with Multimedia Projector.

Visit of Expert/guest faculty

  • Dr. Kuldeep Singh, Head & professor, Department of Political Science, GNDU, Amritsar.
  • Dr. Harish K. Puri, Former Head & professor, Department of Political Science, GNDU, Amritsar.
  • Dr.Jagroop Singh, Head & professor, Department of Political Science, GNDU, Amritsar.
  • Prof. K K Ghai, Former Head & professor, P.G. Department of Political Science, DAV College, Jalandhar.


Students enrichment programmes

  • Extension lecture was organised on theme “Global Warming”.  The keynote speaker Dr. Kuldeep Singh, Head & professor, Department of Political Science, GNDU, Amritsar, on February 9, 2013.
  • Extension lecture was organised by the Post Graduate Department of Political Science DAV COLLEGE on the topic “Dr. B.R Ambedkar’s prosperities on Social Justice”on February 21, 2010. The keynote speaker Dr. Gayan Singh Bal.
  • Extension lecture was organised on theme “International Terrorism and it’s impact on India”. The keynote speaker Dr. Kuldeep Singh, Head & professor, Department of Political Science, GNDU, Amritsar, on October 18, 2009.
  • Extension lecture was organised on theme “ Role of Gadhar Lehar in Freedom struggle of India”. The keynote speaker was Dr. Harish K. Puri, Former Head & professor, Department of Political Science, GNDU, Amritsar, on February 6, 2009.
  • Extension lecture was organised on theme “Career Development programme”. The keynote speaker was Shri Rajinder Bhagat, Indian High Commissioner to Mazambique, on September 14, 2009